My new life as a wannabe writer – I

May 25, 2011 § 13 Comments

25th May 2011: 10:00am

Wow – writers block for the first time. Feels weird, like jet-lag with a hangover and a feeling of losing my favourite teddy (Rusky). The more I think, the worse it gets. Time for my 6th coffee. This is odd, I can create a 1000 word creative piece without too many issues, but writing about my first month in my new life as a wannabe writer (as the title indicates) is a different matter. I can’t get lost in the emotion, the strange worlds, thoughts and musings – it’s a real world, my world.

Right, I’ll try again later. In the meantime, I’ll take a photo of my creative space, my writing heaven, so you can see that I inhabit a real space and have real things, it’s the internet – you never know. It probably looks staged and too tidy, but I live by the “A tidy desk is a tidy mind” principal, it works most of the time. I am still shaking the shackles of a web developers analytical, structured existence.

I wrestled with whether I should put an image of my writing space on this piece or a picture of Rusky, but as Rusky is away visiting my son, it was inevitable my workspace won that little battle. Rusky will be back soon. I will put his image up soon – he’s a handsome bear.

25th May 2011: 12:16pm

Right . . . . got it.

I started this blog on 3rd May 2011, after deciding to change my entire career from being a successful web developer to a wannabe writer. I found sitting in front of a computer and facilitating others greed wasn’t what I wanted to do for the last part of my life. I have spent the last 10 years sat infront of a pc/mac creating social networks, systems and services while losing my own social life. And to some degree, my soul. You can only spend so long programming till 3am every morning before your health starts to deteriorate and you start losing who you are in the matrix of zeros and ones. So here I am, I have made the decision and I am spend as long as it takes to make as much of a success of my writing as I did in my other life as a web developer. Welcome to my journey . . . . . time for another black coffee.

25th May 2011: 14:16pm

I have spent that past month dwindling my bank account down to dust, buying all the books in the world with an interesting cover or books I felt I needed to read to have a respectable level of understanding of the literary world outside of my mac and the internet.

I have read everything from Animal farm to Dan Browns: Digital Fortress, from The Catcher in the Rye to A Perfect Day for a Bananafish, from The Lord of the Flies to WikiLeaks and the Age of Transparency. I am trying to read as many genres of books as I can to give me a greater understanding of writing and the literary world I am to live in for the rest of my life. I must admit, I am struggling with picking up a romantic novel – I just don’t know whether I could commit to reading a soppy story of girl-loses-boy, best-friend-fancies-girl, girl-and-best-friend-marry. I live in fear that I will enjoy it and it may be the genre I am naturally suited.

I would like to write political conspiracy thrillers. Gritty and exciting with car chases and gun-fights. Actually I could just write about Saturday nights in Doncaster, just kidding, it’s Friday nights which are like that.

If you could suggest a good romance novel, that would be helpful. Thank you in advance.

I have only written a few posts on my blog. Some based on my life’s events, some based on prompts from various websites, mainly InMon from BeKindReWrite and some from sparks of inspiration from overhearing a conversation on a train or being sat in a coffee shop. I am using my blog to experiment with writing style, meet like-minded writers and hopefully put my writing career on the right path.

I already feel honoured to be part of all those keys around the world, being furiously tapped for hours and hours, creating wonderful worlds and writing about interesting experiences. I have already changed my outlook on my life and the people in it. I genuinely feel this could be the change I needed. I am healthier, happier and less stressed with everything and everyone.

I feel a great sense of honour and pride that some writers/bloggers, I now class as literary friends, have already spent precious time involving themselves in my blog and are actively engaging in my writings by leaving comments. It means a lot as I need to build my confidence in my new career as a wannabe writer. Sending love and peace to you all.

My declaration to you: I will try to blog everyday and keep my blog interesting. I will actively promote friends I meet and participate in their blogs. I will be open, kind and honest. I will continue to be open to criticism, comments and discussions about my writings. I will do what I can in my power to aid in the success of others blogs. I will add a new post on this page at the end of every month to keep you up-to-date with my progress.

I hope you enjoy my writings. I would love to hear your thoughts. Your thoughts, comments and criticisms are just as important to the success of my writings as the writing itself.

I have a few questions, I hope you wonderful people can help me with.

1. As mentioned, can you recommend a good romance novel I may enjoy?

2. What was the hardest part of getting your first piece / poem / novel / short story published?

3. If you had to go back in time to the start of your literary career over again and could leave yourself a note to help your career go more smoothly the second time, what would that note say?

4. Where is your space for writing?

I would like to thank anyone who engages with this post, or answers any of the above questions, in advance. I know time is precious and at present, yours more than mine, so I really do appreciate it.

§ 13 Responses to My new life as a wannabe writer – I

  • Gian Carlo says:

    I’m a wannabe writer, too haha

  • Bayley Trew says:

    Exciting times Gian. I am loving it. hope you are too.

  • Oddly enough, aside from some of the classics that could be deemed as such, I rarely read romance, so I can’t help you there.

    I am still on my journey to publication so I can’t help you there either. Or with number 3 for that matter.

    You may be thinking well what good are you then? lol

    Well I can answer number 4! I write mainly in my bed. I love my laptop and the comfort and privacy of my room. There are very few distractions there. If I am in Wales by the sea, I will usually write with good old pen and paper while sitting on the beach though.

  • It’s good to get to know you a little better! Also, thanks for the linkage.
    Let’s see…

    1. Romance? I don’t really read it, unless you count Jane Austen – Pride & Prejudice, Sense & Sensibility, etc. – which I quite enjoy. I could recommend several movies, if that helps (…)

    2. The hardest part of getting my novel published is finishing it – I keep seeing things that need tweaking. I’m not sure if I should keep going or draw the line and call it finished (for the hundredth time).

    3. I might tell myself to drop out of college sooner (shocking, I know, but true nonetheless). I could’ve made much better use of my time reading real books and practicing writing than killing myself studying to ace tests on stuff I’d never use. Some people need college, some don’t.

    4. My work writing takes place in my office – a cozy little room, with lamps instead of flourescent ceiling lights, and a lot of toys on the desk. Including Play Doh. My real (fiction) writing takes place at home, mostly on the floor of my bedroom hunched over my laptop. I am going to develop back problems if I don’t move to a desk soon. (Don’t worry, I will).

    • Bayley Trew says:

      Hi bekindrewrite, thank you for replying to my post. And thank you for your romance novel suggestions . . . I will take a trip to local book store soon. (I am not putting it off, promise) I really do appreciate your comments regarding publishing, for someone like me who is just starting on their literary journey, it’s nice to know that there are people around who have experience and are willing to share. You are very kind.

      I am thoroughly being a small part of your site experience, the prompts, comments and following you have are definitely helping my writing progress. Please be careful with your back, I am sure anyone reading this will also keep their fingers crossed you move to a desk soon ;o)

  • Carl says:

    I don’t have any answers for you, but I envy your courage for going full blast into the field. Practicalities keep me in my day job, both the need for money and the lack of writing skills. In addition, what I like to write is probably too avant garde to ever dream about getting anything published. So, I am just doing what I can with it as an avocation. I hope it goes well. Your courage is admirable.

    • Bayley Trew says:

      It is taking a lot of courage but it’s necessary. I am in a lucky position to be able to take the plunge, children at the right age, live alone and no financial ties. I will stop by your blog and read some of your “avant garde” writings. Thank you for taking time to comment.

  • Carl says:

    I also envy your workspace – That is a sharp looking environment. I like sitting in a comfy chair with my laptop. However, I think that my best writing happens with my pencil and moleskin notebook, where ever I happen to be.

    • Bayley Trew says:

      Hey Carl, thank you for your comment. I must admit I do thoroughly enjoy sitting at my desk and being creative. I also find sitting in different places helps get my creativity flowing and physically altering my perspective on things. I use my computer and iphone for writing and note taking, but I love the thought of carrying around a moleskin notebook and pencil, very Oscar Wilde.

  • Indigo Spider says:

    I, too, am a writer wannabe. My journey started about 18 months ago, when I quit an awful job and expected to find another quickly. Unfortunately, the job market had other ideas. Fortunately, it had other ideas. If I had just rolled into another job I would have kept up the pattern of working, unhappily, for others and never doing what my heart really wanted — writing. I understand the soul sucking life of cubicle life, living by ones and zeros, building a portfolio for others.

    To answer your questions: 1. I don’t read romance can’t recommend anything beyond the classics already suggested.
    2. Having the courage and confidence to submit was the hardest part of publishing; once I got out of my way and submitted I got a lot of rejections and it wasn’t as bad as I thought. Finally, got my first acceptance unexpectedly. It takes time but it happens, eventually.
    3. Note to self – don’t hesitate so long, just do it, write anything and everything, don’t be so critical, submit often and once submitted, forget it. Think of yourself as a writer even if you haven’t written a word and you will be a writer when you finally write.
    4. I do not confine to a writing space. I get up in the morning and sit in a comfy chair in my living room that looks out my big windows flooding me with light. I write in my office in the loft upstairs when I feel the need to chance space. I write in coffee shops. I carry a small moleskin with me so I can jot down thoughts, ideas, sketches and doodles at all times. I have a notebook tucked under my pillow to write on sleepless nights, or when dreams compel me to write. Writing is not about a space, it is just about writing.

    I look forward to reading more about your journey as well as other stories. Feel free to drop by and visit my blog, read some of the good and bad that I’ve put out there, read, critique, enjoy, hate or just hover. I started a weekly visual writing prompt challenge on Sunday’s, feel free to take a stab at one if something strikes your fancy.

    Welcome to the writers life!

    • Bayley Trew says:

      Hi Indigo Spider. Thank you so much for your in-depth comment and for taking your time to write it. I am sure anyone reading this will get a much out of it as I have. Your reasons for quitting work sound so familiar. But unfortunately I have recently found myself being sucked back into my old career just to pay the bills – ouch! Two writers have mentioned “moleskin notepads” I am intrigued. Can anyone shed any light on this, seemingly, popular choice of writing partner.
      I love the quotes you have written . . . .
      Think of yourself as a writer even if you haven’t written a word and you will be a writer when you finally write.
      Writing is not about a space, it is just about writing.
      Very inspiring, thank you.
      I will most certainly have a go at you prompt challenge and I will stop by your blog and read some of your writings. Thank you again for your comment, it is appreciated.

  • Bayley Trew says:

    To add to this post, I have found a lovely page, on the Guardian site, of other writers rooms. http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/series/writersrooms?page=1

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My new life as a wannabe writer – I at Thirty Nine Year Old literary virgin!.

meta

